LCD display help

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
chand00786
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:46 am
Contact:

LCD display help

Post by chand00786 »

I made my first program in flowcode to display "Hello world" on 16*2 lcd.the program runs very well on flow code simulator.But when I create hex file of this program and try to run it in "proteus" there was no display on lcd.can any help me to solve this problem.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: LCD display help

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Try looking at the chip -> configure setting. To use a crystal you will probably need to use the HS oscillator setting. Also disable features like low voltage programming and watchdog timer if available.

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9521
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: LCD display help

Post by medelec35 »

Hi chand00786,
I could be wrong but since proteus is a simulator then the XT or HS should not affect it (although it’s good practice to set configurations correctly).
I would say the issue is more about the LCD connections. Both Flowcode and proteus need to match.
Take a look at the LCD eblock circuit diagram I posted here:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 080#p28613
I have not really used proteus so I’m no sure if you need to sate if LCD is in 8bit or 4bit mode, so you may want to check that out.
If you are still stuck then perhaps you could post flowchart and proteus simulation file, then a solution could be posted.

Martin
Martin

Desdewit
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:26 am
Location: South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: LCD display help

Post by Desdewit »

Hi chand00786

Like medelec35 said your LCD connections might be the problem.
Connect your LCD as below:
No need for a crystal in Proteus
LCD runs in 4-bit

Pic RB0 to LCD D4
Pic RB1 to LCD D5
Pic RB2 to LCD D6
Pic RB3 to LCD D7
Pic RB4 to LCD RS
Pic RB5 to LCD E
LCD RW to GND
LCD VEE N/A
LCD VDD to 5V
LCD VSS to GND

I use this in all my Proteus designs and it works fine with a hex file from flowcode.

chand00786
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:46 am
Contact:

Re: LCD display help

Post by chand00786 »

i am very thankful to you for guiding me.the problem was of connections.I have corrected the connections and now lcd is running very well.Now i want to move ""hello world" on lcd screen.how to move it.

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9521
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: LCD display help

Post by medelec35 »

Hi chand00786,
Glad you sorted LCD issue out
I posted a Flowchart that moves message across the LCD here:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 771#p15754

Martin
Martin

Post Reply