SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
ronaldlijs
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by ronaldlijs »

Hi guys,

Flowcode 8.2.2 (latest version). We are using an SSD1322 in parallel mode (Interface Type: 8080) with a PIC32MZ. When I try to initialize the display, it just shows rubbish on the screen :-(
SSD1322_Init.jpg
SSD1322_Init.jpg (81.7 KiB) Viewed 6113 times
We are sure the PIC32MZ is running at correct speed and not crashing as we have a second LCD display SSD1306 in Buffer mode (serial) alongside working perfectly well.

Where can we start troubleshooting this problem? Would be possible at all to get the FC8 source of the SSD1322 to make sure the timings are correct? The module we are using is from Buydisplay.com, same source we got the SSD1306 which is workng very well.

Many thanks in advance for your help!

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Here's the component source, please let me know if you find anything. It looks like maybe the initialise is ok but the clear is not working correctly. Maybe to do with the GotoXY function.
glcd_SSD1322.fcfx
(132.61 KiB) Downloaded 197 times

ronaldlijs
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by ronaldlijs »

Hi Ben,

Very kind of you and super quick, thanks! I will keep you posted with any news.

Cheers!
R

ronaldlijs
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by ronaldlijs »

Hi Ben,

Yes there seem to be some minor differences in the init routines between the FC8 SSD1322 component and the LCD I'm using. So will adapt, test and report back.

Really appreciate providing the source, it makes things so much quicker to fix.

Again cheers for this!

ronaldlijs
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by ronaldlijs »

OK commands didn't make any difference.

Seems that when I enable the display with command 0xAF then the noise shows.

I have asked the supplier to help with what could be wrong here, so might take some time before I get any news about this one.

Thanks!

ronaldlijs
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by ronaldlijs »

Some more on this. I can control the brightness of the display, so there is communication and the display is responding for sure to the commands.

The Init routines seem fine, but the Clear Display is indeed doesn't work :-(

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Please can you try the new component file I've pushed to the update system.

Hopefully this will clear the display and if that works then I know how to fix the pixel functions too.

Let me know how you get on.
Attachments
gLCD_SSD1322.fcpx
(10.13 KiB) Downloaded 153 times

ronaldlijs
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by ronaldlijs »

Hi ben,

It's strange, it still doesn't work. With the component source, I did expose the WirteCommand and WriteData functions so I could play with those from the FC8 propram.

I can send a command followed by data to the display and works fine, for example set brightness level. But I'm not sure how to write data to the dispay.

I have noticed the Write RAM Command (5Ch). But I'm not sure how to use it either... (After entering this single byte command, data entries will be written into the display RAM until another command is written. Address pointer is increased accordingly. This command must be sent before write data into RAM).

I have not found this command in the component source, so I'm lost as to how to implement it...

Many thanks again for your help,
R

ronaldlijs
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by ronaldlijs »

One more thing, the contact from BuyDisplay gave me a quick example routine to clear the display as follows.

Code: Select all

void Clear_ram()
{ unsigned char x,y;
 Write_Instruction(0x15);
 Write_Data(0x00);
 Write_Data(0x77);
 Write_Instruction(0x75);
 Write_Data(0x00);
 Write_Data(0x7f);
 Write_Instruction(0x5C);
 for(y=0;y<128;y++)
  { for(x=0;x<120;x++)
   {   Write_Data(0x00);
   }
  }
}
Hope this helps!
R
Attachments
SD1322_Commands.jpg
SD1322_Commands.jpg (90.49 KiB) Viewed 6078 times

ronaldlijs
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by ronaldlijs »

Any more thoughts on this one?

Cheers,
R

ronaldlijs
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by ronaldlijs »

Hi guys,

The people from Buydisplay have shared a demo code that should work with this display for your reference.

Thanks!
Attachments
ER-OLED032-1_8080-8-bit_DemoCode.txt
(65.63 KiB) Downloaded 156 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by Benj »

Hello,

I've had another look at the code compared to what you posted and it all seems to look ok. However it appears the clear function is not working for some reason.

Do you know the pixel dimensions of your display? It might be worth trying to increase the pixel height in the component properties and see if this makes any difference. I'm wondering if there is an offset between the display pixels and the controller IC ram.

ronaldlijs
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by ronaldlijs »

Thanks Ben,

The display is 256x64 pixels.

What I'll do is to mimic he init routine the Egineer from Buydisplay gave me and see if that inits the display correctly. If not, I'll get back to them, if it does, then we would have moved a step forward.

Regards
R

User avatar
katela
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:04 am
Location: South Africa
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Post by katela »

Hi Ronald,

Did you get it right?
I'm also trying to use the SSD1322 with PIC16F1887 but doesn't work.
Tried with Parallel and buffered mode with no success.
I am using Flowcode v9. More info here: https://www.flowcode.co.uk/forums/viewt ... f=10&t=506
Free online Microcontroller Tutorials & Projects for beginners to advanced.
Website: https://www.studentcompanion.co.za/cate ... e-for-pic/
YouTube Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/StudentCompanionSA

Post Reply