Modbus Slave Starting Addresses

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 8.

Moderator: Benj

Simon-ST

Modbus Slave Starting Addresses

Post by Simon-ST »

Hi All,
This is my first time posting so please forgive me if I am posting in the wrong place or way. I have hunted through the posts and help pages but can find no help or instructions on this. I am making a device that uses 10 identical PCB's that collect data and using Modbus RTU over RS422 send the data to a PLC for distribution on to a company network. I am using MAX 491 RS422 transceivers and I have the hardware side working. Come to my problem, as each of the PCBs are the same really didn't want to flash each PIC separately, the idea being that there is an ID DIP switch that sets the slave ID / address of each PCB, this way a spare can be held and substituted easily if required. It appears that I need to change the starting addresses, in my case for the coils and the registers from the program as the Slave ID changes. So, if Slave ID is 1 then starting address might be 0 and number of addresses 10, then when the slave ID is changed to 3, say, the starting addresses need to be increased to 20. I have tried every way I can think of to change these property variables from the program, they don't appear as Macros in the components explorer, I have right clicked the property and set the "expose to top level" which has added them to the explorer tree in the calculation component, but if I try to set those variables it just brings up an error about the variable being on the wrong side of the equals sign. Please help, this one has got me and I have spent hours researching and trying all manor of things, none that have worked. Any help or ideas would be much appreciated.

Simon.

AbhijitR

Re: Modbus Slave Starting Addresses

Post by AbhijitR »

Hello! Simon