Page 1 of 1

LCD display help

Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:02 am
by chand00786
I made my first program in flowcode to display "Hello world" on 16*2 lcd.the program runs very well on flow code simulator.But when I create hex file of this program and try to run it in "proteus" there was no display on lcd.can any help me to solve this problem.

Re: LCD display help

Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:00 am
by Benj
Hello,

Try looking at the chip -> configure setting. To use a crystal you will probably need to use the HS oscillator setting. Also disable features like low voltage programming and watchdog timer if available.

Re: LCD display help

Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:36 am
by medelec35
Hi chand00786,
I could be wrong but since proteus is a simulator then the XT or HS should not affect it (although it’s good practice to set configurations correctly).
I would say the issue is more about the LCD connections. Both Flowcode and proteus need to match.
Take a look at the LCD eblock circuit diagram I posted here:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 080#p28613
I have not really used proteus so I’m no sure if you need to sate if LCD is in 8bit or 4bit mode, so you may want to check that out.
If you are still stuck then perhaps you could post flowchart and proteus simulation file, then a solution could be posted.

Martin

Re: LCD display help

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:38 pm
by Desdewit
Hi chand00786

Like medelec35 said your LCD connections might be the problem.
Connect your LCD as below:
No need for a crystal in Proteus
LCD runs in 4-bit

Pic RB0 to LCD D4
Pic RB1 to LCD D5
Pic RB2 to LCD D6
Pic RB3 to LCD D7
Pic RB4 to LCD RS
Pic RB5 to LCD E
LCD RW to GND
LCD VEE N/A
LCD VDD to 5V
LCD VSS to GND

I use this in all my Proteus designs and it works fine with a hex file from flowcode.

Re: LCD display help

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:09 pm
by chand00786
i am very thankful to you for guiding me.the problem was of connections.I have corrected the connections and now lcd is running very well.Now i want to move ""hello world" on lcd screen.how to move it.

Re: LCD display help

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:58 pm
by medelec35
Hi chand00786,
Glad you sorted LCD issue out
I posted a Flowchart that moves message across the LCD here:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 771#p15754

Martin