Page 1 of 1

Problems choosing character size on 128x64 display

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 1:36 pm
by Oderlando
Hi. I'm learning to use 128x64 display (ST7920). But I'm having trouble modifying the size of the characters shown on the display. Regardless of what I do, the size is the same. Could anyone give any tips? I'm posting a flowchart that I set up to try to change the font size, but it doesn't change.

Re: Problems choosing character size on 128x64 display

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 2:13 pm
by AbhijitR
Hello! Oderlando

Are you facing the problem in simulation or at actual, just for knowledge the chart works well in simulation for me, i could see the font size changing after the delay, i am not able to check on real hardware.

Abhi

Re: Problems choosing character size on 128x64 display

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 2:56 pm
by Oderlando
Hello !! I am using real hardware. I always use simulations before testing in the real world, but my Proteus doesn't provide the component (display st7920) so I can test it virtually.

Re: Problems choosing character size on 128x64 display

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 6:14 pm
by Benj
Hello,

What version of Flowcode are you using?

Re: Problems choosing character size on 128x64 display

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 7:34 pm
by Oderlando
Hello Ben ! I'm using version 9.
I noticed that the display has a certain delay to load the characters, which can be 1 or 2 seconds, depending on what you want to show. I did a test using an arduino nano (in serial mode, using the arduino code example) and saw that the data loads quickly into the display. I can't understand why.

Re: Problems choosing character size on 128x64 display

Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2021 9:35 am
by Steve
Oderlando wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 7:34 pm
I'm using version 9.
Hi Oderlando. Can you please use the v9 Flowcode forums for issues related to v9.

Re: Problems choosing character size on 128x64 display

Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2021 10:08 am
by Benj
Hello,

I'll answer you here seeing as you have posted here but yes please in future post v9 questins on the new dedicated Flowcode forums thanks.

In v9 we have changed how the GLCD fonts work a bit. The font selection parameter when printing strings or numbers corresponds to the font list shown in the display properties. Currently you only have one font selected and so the parameter for the print functions should always be 0 to use that single loaded font. If you had two fonts loaded then you could use the values 0 or 1 to select the corresponding font.

To scale up the size of the font on screen use the new SetFontScaler function.

Re: Problems choosing character size on 128x64 display

Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 1:25 pm
by Oderlando
Hello Ben ! Thanks for your help. I was able to understand how the display works. It worked very well.