Page 1 of 1

Stepper Motor

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:36 am
by Frank G.
Hi!

This question pertains to actuator board stepper motor.
Using a switch to go forward and reverse had no problem, controlling speed no problem but unable to single step the 15 degree stepper motor.
Each time I press the botton it will go from 60 degrees to 90 or the full 360. I've tried different things including going single face with no success. What am I doing wrong? or What am I not doing?

Thanks

Frank G.

stepper motor

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:42 pm
by johndobson
Here is the driving algorithm:
Orange (I/O 3) Yellow (I/O 0) Brown (I/O 1) Black (I/O 2) Input on pins 0-3
(bin, hex, dec)
Step 1 1 0 1 0 1010, 0AH, 10
Step 2 0 1 1 0 0011,03H, 3
Step 3 0 1 0 1 0101, 05H, 5
Step 4 1 0 0 1 1100, 0CH, 12

If you don't follow the sequence exactly then you may miss a step.

My first step would be to check code matches this. Let me know if it does nto work out.

John

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:40 am
by Frank G.
Hi!John


Thanks for responding.

Yes the code dos mach.

What I have don is to add delay between each step.

/* step-1_0Ah */
output_highPort_b(0);
delay_ms(500);
output_low_port_b(1);
delay_ms(500);

What happens is that I could see the steps going through the complete cycle of code. 0A,03,05, and 0C. ( 60 degrees)

But what I wan is to single step 15 degrees at a time.

I even tryed adding more delay just to see the same thing.

I tryed stepping one and two steps, it seem to want to work, but then locks up.

I have a worksheet that came with the board, that has an exercises to
do that very thing. Well I'm trying.

Thanks

Frank G.

stepper

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:41 pm
by johndobson
Hae you got LEDs on port B to make sure what you think is being produced is actually produced?

Are you in Low Voltage Mode? if so B3 is often disabled so all bets are off.

John