lightdimmer

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 2 and 3.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

venturi
Flowcode V4 User

lightdimmer

Post by venturi »

I would like to make a lightcontrol device using flowcode.
Maybe to begin with an automatic fade in fade out dimmer with dipswitch on Port A for different speeds ? Has anyone done that already ?
I would like to use RB0 as zerocross detection.
I'm new in this so any help would be appreciated.
Target device is PIC16F628.
Thank you

Ian

Post by Ian »

One item you may need that isn't on the PIC is a DAC - a Digital to anlaogue convertor, to control the lightbulb voltage.
You can get input from the dimmer as an analogue value, but all outputs are on or off digital logical levels.

You can input the dimmer anlogue signal, get the dip switch positions and calculate the signal level as a number (e.g. 0-255 on a single port) and send that signal via a port to the DAC chip to convert the number into an analogue signal to light the bulb.

I'm not too sure what you mean by Zerocross detection so can't suggest anything for that.
But RB0 can be configured as an interrupt if you need to react to a particular signal.

Steve
Matrix Staff

Post by Steve »

You mention the need for "zero-cross detection". Does this mean you are implementing some kind of power-line control such as X-10?

We produce an X-10 E-Block (that connects to the powerline via an XM10U device, or equivalent) - this may be of interest to you as it takes some of the headaches away when connecting devices directly to the mains.

I know that Microchip have an X-10 application note which contains info about directly interfacing with the mains, plus they have some code.

As for a light-dimmer application, I think you can use PWM on a single output pin of a PICmicro connected to a TRIAC(?). Altering this output's mark-to-space ratio will set the brightness.