Page 1 of 1

ROM free 100%

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:05 am
by lightbug
Hi, I'm new in flowcode.
I am having a trouble with the ROM memory, it's 100% unused, why all the memory used is RAM??
All the code goes to the RAM in the free edition? :?

Code: Select all

RAM available:68 bytes, used:94 bytes (138.2%), free:-26 bytes (-38.2%), 
Heap size:0 bytes, Heap max single alloc:0 bytes
ROM available:1024 words, used:0 words (0.0%), free:1024 words (100.0%)

Thanks! and sorry for my english :D

Re: ROM free 100%

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:35 am
by lightbug
I've noticed that when the ROM is full the ram is used :roll: .
I'm using less instructions but it's not enough for my purpose

Re: ROM free 100%

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 7:38 am
by medelec35
Hi lightbug,
If your using too many variables or using variable assigned to floats which takes up lots of RAM in calculations

Code: Select all

RAM available:68 bytes, used:94 
Therefore there is not enough RAM (you're using 94 bytes when your target device has a total of 64 bytes available) then ROM will be reported as 100% not used since compiling was unsuccessful.
You will need to selected a target device with more RAM as possible and/or re-look at your variables and calculations you're using.
It maybe a good idea to post your flowchart so we can help you further.

Martin

Re: ROM free 100%

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 5:28 pm
by lightbug
Hi martin, thanks! I was hoping that change the target device was the last thing to do. I'm using 16f84a (yeah I know :lol: ) and trying to make a frequency meter, the problem comes with the mantissa of the frequency (comparison of float numbers), so the memory is not enough. Maybe the way i am doing this is wrong

I uploaded the fcf file