Page 1 of 2

Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:57 pm
by Tony Brown
Anyone know how to print a play symbol (triangle pointing to the right) on a lcd.

Thanks

Tony

Re: Play symbol (trianlge)

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:08 am
by Enamul
Hi
I haven't checked that in hardware but the following link is saying ASCII code 16 should display â–ºPlay (Forward). If you put printascii(16) in LCD macro; you should be able to check whether it print that character or not.
http://www.scribd.com/doc/37032592/ASCII-CHARACTER-CODE

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:28 am
by dazz
Hi Tony
Like enamul i havent tried in hardware , but if you look at the lcd help file it lists the useable characters, the otherway is to find an lcd character generater online and make up your symbol then write that to the display

Regards
Dazz

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:52 am
by Benj
Hi Tony,

This article may help for uploading a custom character to the display.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... =26&t=4796

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:35 pm
by Tony Brown
Thanks all for your help.

I tried the printascii(16) but I did not get the play triangle, I got a cross type shape.

Benj in my flowcode 5 components folder I cannot find the LCDDisplay code. I found LCDDisplay.c but in that file there is no line that says "internal" anywhere.

Attached is a small flowcode file that I made which scrolls through the ascii symbols and if you stop it at 16 you will see what I get.
Regards

Tony

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:44 pm
by medelec35
Not the arrow but the greater than symbol is PrintASCII(62)
If you want the triangle symbol for play symbol, then I agree with creating custom symbol.
I'm looking into how to do that with V5

Martin

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:41 am
by medelec35
Hi Tony,
Can you try this please.
It prints an Play symbol on my LCD

Martin

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:04 am
by medelec35
Forgot to add, you will need to change to your target device, and clock speed + correct configuation settings.

Custom LCD char will not simulate. Must be be loaded on to hardware or simulator capable of running hex files.

Martin

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:07 am
by Tony Brown
Hi Martin

I get nothing on the screen

Regards

Tony

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:10 am
by Tony Brown
Hi Martin

Just read your last post, is it possible that the ASCII code for the play triangle (16) is not showing up on the flowcode simulation because it will only work on the hardware?

I will try it tomorrow and repost.

Regards

Tony

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:25 am
by medelec35
on your hardware?

Will not show in Flowcode simulator

I have altered your file so will show arrow on 16F88.

Both on my hardware and simulator that works with hex files I have:
Play Arrow 1.png
(80.89 KiB) Downloaded 8570 times

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:32 am
by medelec35
Tony Brown wrote:is it possible that the ASCII code for the play triangle (16) is not showing up on the flowcode simulation because it will only work on the hardware?
ASCII(16) does not work for me, but it may work with different LCD character sets I don't know about.

I am creating a basic tutorial for creating LCD custom characters.
Its easy to do with V5 (custom code does not require altering on V5, link is for Flowcode V3)
Will also check if it works with V4 as well

Martin

Edit Confirmed working with Flowcode 4.

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:36 am
by medelec35
I have created an article on creating custom LCD Characters for Flowcode V4 and V5, which can be found here:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 26&t=11987

Martin

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:28 pm
by Tony Brown
Hi medelec35

Thanks for tutorial that will really be useful, will let you know how I get on.

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:31 pm
by medelec35
Your welcome Tony.
Did the play char show on your display ok?

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:35 pm
by Tony Brown
Am going to try it tomorrow, so will let you know then.

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:38 pm
by medelec35
Ok mate, no worries.

Thanks for your reply

Martin

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:25 pm
by Tony Brown
Hi Martin

Got some new pics on order, ran out :-(

Im hoping this works cant wait to try it.

Will let you know how I get on soon.

Tony

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 2:08 pm
by medelec35
Tony Brown wrote:Hi Martin

Got some new pics on order, ran out :-(
Don't you just hate it when that happens :(

Nothing much worse then being keen on getting thing sorted as just got a new bit in Flowcode to try and you not got a chip to try it on :cry:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:51 am
by Tony Brown
Hi Martin

Finally tried it, it works great... thanks.

How do I put the triangle where ever I want on the screen?

Regards

Tony

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 11:30 am
by medelec35
glad it works :)
Tony Brown wrote: How do I put the triangle where ever I want on the screen?
Just use normal cursor commands.

E.g Cursor x=5 Y=1
Then use print ASCII with a 0 to display arrow, just like in the flowchart posted.

Martin

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 11:42 am
by Tony Brown
Hi Martin

I have found that whilst the play triangle is on the screen (bottom line of lcd), the top line gets blanked out, any idea?

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:41 pm
by medelec35
Can you post (Or PM if its commercial) your flowchart please, then I can take a look.
No promises as I have only just worked out how to create custom chars with FC5 after your post.
So i'm no expert on it.

Martin

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:25 pm
by Tony Brown
Hi Martin

Solved it, I had to put the FCD_LCDDisplay0_RAM_Write(0,8,12,14,15,14,12,8,0); right at the beginning of the lcd start up and I can now put the rest of the sequence where ever I want it.

Thanks

Tony

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 6:32 pm
by medelec35
Hi Tony,
Glad you solved it.
Just for clarity is it right at the beginning of your flowchart, before LCD enable,
or just after led enable before Main loop?