Play symbol (triangle)

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

Tony Brown
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Tony Brown »

Anyone know how to print a play symbol (triangle pointing to the right) on a lcd.

Thanks

Tony

User avatar
Enamul
Posts: 1772
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:34 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 814 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (trianlge)

Post by Enamul »

Hi
I haven't checked that in hardware but the following link is saying ASCII code 16 should display ►Play (Forward). If you put printascii(16) in LCD macro; you should be able to check whether it print that character or not.
http://www.scribd.com/doc/37032592/ASCII-CHARACTER-CODE
Enamul
University of Nottingham
enamul4mm@gmail.com

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by dazz »

Hi Tony
Like enamul i havent tried in hardware , but if you look at the lcd help file it lists the useable characters, the otherway is to find an lcd character generater online and make up your symbol then write that to the display

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15234
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4768 times
Been thanked: 4300 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Benj »

Hi Tony,

This article may help for uploading a custom character to the display.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... =26&t=4796

Tony Brown
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Tony Brown »

Thanks all for your help.

I tried the printascii(16) but I did not get the play triangle, I got a cross type shape.

Benj in my flowcode 5 components folder I cannot find the LCDDisplay code. I found LCDDisplay.c but in that file there is no line that says "internal" anywhere.

Attached is a small flowcode file that I made which scrolls through the ascii symbols and if you stop it at 16 you will see what I get.
Regards

Tony
Attachments
ascii_code.fcf
(9 KiB) Downloaded 267 times

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

Not the arrow but the greater than symbol is PrintASCII(62)
If you want the triangle symbol for play symbol, then I agree with creating custom symbol.
I'm looking into how to do that with V5

Martin
Martin

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

Hi Tony,
Can you try this please.
It prints an Play symbol on my LCD

Martin
Attachments
Play Arrow.fcf
(6.5 KiB) Downloaded 297 times
Martin

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

Forgot to add, you will need to change to your target device, and clock speed + correct configuation settings.

Custom LCD char will not simulate. Must be be loaded on to hardware or simulator capable of running hex files.

Martin
Martin

Tony Brown
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Tony Brown »

Hi Martin

I get nothing on the screen

Regards

Tony

Tony Brown
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Tony Brown »

Hi Martin

Just read your last post, is it possible that the ASCII code for the play triangle (16) is not showing up on the flowcode simulation because it will only work on the hardware?

I will try it tomorrow and repost.

Regards

Tony

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

on your hardware?

Will not show in Flowcode simulator

I have altered your file so will show arrow on 16F88.

Both on my hardware and simulator that works with hex files I have:
Play Arrow 1.png
(80.89 KiB) Downloaded 8570 times
Attachments
ascii_code V2.fcf
(7.5 KiB) Downloaded 248 times
Martin

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

Tony Brown wrote:is it possible that the ASCII code for the play triangle (16) is not showing up on the flowcode simulation because it will only work on the hardware?
ASCII(16) does not work for me, but it may work with different LCD character sets I don't know about.

I am creating a basic tutorial for creating LCD custom characters.
Its easy to do with V5 (custom code does not require altering on V5, link is for Flowcode V3)
Will also check if it works with V4 as well

Martin

Edit Confirmed working with Flowcode 4.
Martin

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

I have created an article on creating custom LCD Characters for Flowcode V4 and V5, which can be found here:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 26&t=11987

Martin
Martin

Tony Brown
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Tony Brown »

Hi medelec35

Thanks for tutorial that will really be useful, will let you know how I get on.

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

Your welcome Tony.
Did the play char show on your display ok?
Martin

Tony Brown
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Tony Brown »

Am going to try it tomorrow, so will let you know then.

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

Ok mate, no worries.

Thanks for your reply

Martin
Martin

Tony Brown
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Tony Brown »

Hi Martin

Got some new pics on order, ran out :-(

Im hoping this works cant wait to try it.

Will let you know how I get on soon.

Tony

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

Tony Brown wrote:Hi Martin

Got some new pics on order, ran out :-(
Don't you just hate it when that happens :(

Nothing much worse then being keen on getting thing sorted as just got a new bit in Flowcode to try and you not got a chip to try it on :cry:
Martin

Tony Brown
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Tony Brown »

Hi Martin

Finally tried it, it works great... thanks.

How do I put the triangle where ever I want on the screen?

Regards

Tony

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

glad it works :)
Tony Brown wrote: How do I put the triangle where ever I want on the screen?
Just use normal cursor commands.

E.g Cursor x=5 Y=1
Then use print ASCII with a 0 to display arrow, just like in the flowchart posted.

Martin
Martin

Tony Brown
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Tony Brown »

Hi Martin

I have found that whilst the play triangle is on the screen (bottom line of lcd), the top line gets blanked out, any idea?

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

Can you post (Or PM if its commercial) your flowchart please, then I can take a look.
No promises as I have only just worked out how to create custom chars with FC5 after your post.
So i'm no expert on it.

Martin
Martin

Tony Brown
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by Tony Brown »

Hi Martin

Solved it, I had to put the FCD_LCDDisplay0_RAM_Write(0,8,12,14,15,14,12,8,0); right at the beginning of the lcd start up and I can now put the rest of the sequence where ever I want it.

Thanks

Tony

medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9328
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2558 times
Been thanked: 3772 times
Contact:

Re: Play symbol (triangle)

Post by medelec35 »

Hi Tony,
Glad you solved it.
Just for clarity is it right at the beginning of your flowchart, before LCD enable,
or just after led enable before Main loop?
Martin

Post Reply