My LCD only prints the first 8 of 16 digits

Foro para hablantes de español que deseen escribir en su lengua materna.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
elneto53
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:14 pm
Contact:

My LCD only prints the first 8 of 16 digits

Post by elneto53 »

Hello
I have a problem and cannot solve it, I have FlowCode V4, and I made a board of my own, with a PIC16f886, and an LCD 16x1.
I am only trying to display "Hello Word", and I only get the first 8 digits on the LCD, that is "Hello Wo". I have, HS for the Oscillator, BOD and SBOREN disabled, LVP disabled, and everything else disabled. The crystal is running at 12MHz and runs perfectly.
Could you help me on this, for I do not know what I am doing wrong, I have tried everything I know, and it keeps doing the same. The simulator works fine, for it is a very simple program, but in the real world…..
Thank you a lot, I will really appreciate it. My e-mail: elneto53@hotmail.com
Ernesto Carrion

User avatar
STibor
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 3:20 pm
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 113 times
Contact:

Re: My LCD only prints the first 8 of 16 digits

Post by STibor »

Hi!

Program:
1.Lcd Display Start
2.Print String:"Hello Wo"(First 8 characters)
3.LCD Cursor:0,1 (Cursor to second line)
4.Print String:"rd"(Second 8 characters)

User avatar
Enamul
Posts: 1772
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:34 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 814 times
Contact:

Re: My LCD only prints the first 8 of 16 digits

Post by Enamul »

am only trying to display "Hello Word", and I only get the first 8 digits on the LCD, that is "Hello Wo".
Can you please post your program? It seems to me that speed problem if nothing else is causing in the code.
3.LCD Cursor:0,1 (Cursor to second line)
4.Print String:"rd"(Second 8 characters)
In single line LCD, he has no scope to move to 2nd line..
Please try the attached code and let us know how you are getting that.
Attachments
LCD_single_line.fcf
(5 KiB) Downloaded 619 times
Enamul
University of Nottingham
enamul4mm@gmail.com

User avatar
STibor
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 3:20 pm
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 113 times
Contact:

Re: My LCD only prints the first 8 of 16 digits

Post by STibor »

Sometimes the one-line 16-character LCD display with 2 lines and 8 control characters.

elneto53
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:14 pm
Contact:

Re: My LCD only prints the first 8 of 16 digits

Post by elneto53 »

Hellow STibor:
Thank you for your help, but, It does the same, it only prints the first 8 of 16 digits.
Below is the "C" code.
And I also think it is a speed problem, as you can see it is only a test program.
The cristal is a 12MHz cristal, it oscilates perfectly. atached you will find the configuration, and the FlowCode.
It does not respond to moving the cursor to the second 8 digits, it does nothing.
I must point out, that I custom wire the port "B", as you can see in the code, could that be the problem? I did this, for I have done it for AVR's without any problem.
Than you a lot for your help.
Ernesto.
Attachments
compiler_msg.txt
(12.08 KiB) Downloaded 640 times
This is the FlowCode
This is the FlowCode
FlowCode2.jpg (100.47 KiB) Viewed 12011 times
This is the micro configuration
This is the micro configuration
FlowCode1.jpg (51.97 KiB) Viewed 12011 times

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: My LCD only prints the first 8 of 16 digits

Post by dazz »

Hola
Trate tabla enamuls, una cosa que me di cuenta es en el código C que parece poner el cursor a partir de las 8 de manera comenzará en la mitad posterior deEl lcd

después del inicio lcd macro agregar una macro cursor con 0 0 en el mismo
esto obligará a la pantalla para comenzar en la posición 0

háganos saber cómo le va
Saludos
Dazz



Hi
Try enamuls chart, one thing i noticed is in the C code it seems to set the cursor starting at 8 so will start in the later half ofthe lcd

after the start lcd macro add a cursor macro with 0 0 in it
this will force the display to start at position 0

let us know how you get on
Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

elneto53
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:14 pm
Contact:

Re: My LCD only prints the first 8 of 16 digits

Post by elneto53 »

Thank you for your input, but it does the same thing, I solved the problem, by printing 3 times the same string into the LCD, only the string had to be exactly of 16 characters, I really do not know why, but it seems that if I refress the LCD finally it gets the info, and prints the string.
Maybe this will tell you something about the problem.
Thank you a lot
Ernesto. :shock:

User avatar
Enamul
Posts: 1772
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:34 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 814 times
Contact:

Re: My LCD only prints the first 8 of 16 digits

Post by Enamul »

Hi,
I have found a solution for you. Although I was thinking Stribor was wrong..But he is right if my guess is right..The LCD you have is of 16*1 LCD type 1 which has RAM address from 0x00 to 0x07 (in first 8 charecters) and 0x40 to 0x47 (in next 8 characters). So using Flowcode and single line LCD it will not work..In the code I have changed that to LCD (16*2) to adjust address location..so please try that one and let us know.

Edit: Added FCV4 version for you...
Attachments
LCD_single_line_v4.fcf
FCV4
(4.5 KiB) Downloaded 631 times
LCD_single_line.fcf
FCV5
(7.5 KiB) Downloaded 618 times
Enamul
University of Nottingham
enamul4mm@gmail.com

Post Reply