Page 1 of 3

GSM E Block

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 8:07 pm
by JohnCrow
Hi
Your new GSM E-Block looks very interesting. A couple of questions
1) Will the macros for this (and the wifi board) be in the forthcoming update to FC4 or will we have to wait for FC5.

2) In the data sheet the test program says enter the SMS message using the E-Blocks keypad. Does this function like a normal phone keypad in this application
i.e. No.1 gives A B C etc, or is the test program just a numeric message.

This board is certainly going to be added to the system in the not to distant future. Have one or two ideas for such a module.
Thanks

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 8:59 pm
by misoct
Hi JohnCrow
I think FC4 do all operations and instructions for the new product GSM e Block since any GSM depends only how to send AT commands to the module like RS232 and this is available in FC4
best wishes
Tharowat

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:51 am
by Benj
Hello,

Tharowat is correct that the GSM can be controlled by the RS232 component. However I am also happy to announce that we do have components for GSM and WIFI included in the upcoming v4 update.

The test program does use the keypad as a text input device eg 1 - A/B/C.

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:16 pm
by greentech
hey there,

this sounds very interesting how do i go by gsm code? can u xplain

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:49 am
by JohnCrow
Hi
Well as far as I see from the data sheet for this board, you have to get a pay as you go sim card (Prepay), not a contract type as these are normally encrypted to work with phones locked to their network.
The update to FC4 which is due for release shortly is going to have the macros to drive it. So it should be a case of connect the board to the programmer, write the code and for example you could sent a text from your phone to the eblocks phone no. and it could for example turn bit 0 on port d high and this could switch on a relay.
Anything else thats not in the data sheet will have to be answered by BenJ @ Matrix

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:18 am
by Benj
Cheers John,

The GSM component will include macros to do the following.

Check for incoming messages (call or text)
Answer Phone
Hang Up Phone
Dial Number
Read Incoming SMS Message
Send Outgoing SMS Message

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:09 am
by greentech
when the update will be available?

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:10 am
by greentech
untill then can i do it via rs232?

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:53 am
by Benj
Hello,

Yes RS232 will currently work fine to send and receive the AT commands. We hope to make this release as soon as possible, hopefully in the next couple of weeks.

buying new product

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:03 pm
by greentech
hi benj
hope you are well. one of my friend is interested in buying flowcode, what is the latest package, is it coming alongwith dev board? any special offers going on. what is the difference between student and professional edition?

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:29 pm
by Benj
Hello,

The latest package of Flowcode PIC is the v4.3 release. We will also be releasing version 4.5 shortly as a free update.

You can get the Flowcode package along with a E-block starter pack.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/product ... PHPSESSID=

Or you can get Flowcode with a older version 6 EB006 board
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/product ... PHPSESSID=

Most of the E-block bundles also come with a license of Flowcode.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/eblockbundles.php

Student edition is not limited in code size but will not compile code for all the advanced components such as RS232, SPI, servo, stepper etc. A full list can be found in the marketing datasheet.

Professional edition comes with all the components and also a commercial license to allow you to sell any products you create using Flowcode.

Port Scan

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:21 pm
by greentech
Hi there,

I am trying to scan port c for the outputs. if 4 lights are on digit 4 is displayed on 7 segment, if if 2 are on digit 2 should display. How can i do this.

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:11 pm
by Benj
Hello,

Are you controlling the outputs on portC in your program or are they outputs from another external device eg switches?

If you are controlling the outputs then you cannot read the port using an input icon or you will essentially disable the outputs and convert the port to be an input.

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 7:59 am
by greentech
i am trying to read output pins of micro controller. isn't there a way in which i can scan whats the out put on port c?

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:01 am
by greentech
Can u tell me what at commands ill have to send to the gsm module in order to initialize it, then send an sms to a number?

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:16 am
by Benj
Hello,

You can read the contents of the port register by using a C code icon and a Flowcode variable.

Here the Flowcode variable "port" would be loaded with the portc value. Reading the tris register too would allow you to see the data direction of the port bits.

FCV_PORT = portc;

FCV_TRIS = trisc;

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:17 am
by Benj
Hello,

There is a GSM component as part of the Flowcode update.

In the mean time here is a program that will send out a sms message.

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:42 pm
by greentech
thats gr8

thankyou benj.....

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:30 am
by greentech
the program have got quite alot of macros, can i use only initialize gsm and send msg macro. i dont want to enter the message text i want to send out a default msg txt. do i have to use SPI?

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:36 am
by Benj
Hello Greentech,

Yes you should be able to get away with just using the initialise and send message macros and chop out all the sections on entering the number and the message.

Also no the SPI component is not needed by the program.

problem in chip selection fcd for ds pic

Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:49 pm
by greentech
Hi there,

I just bought fcd for ds pic. the problem is, when i click chip / configure it gives an error unrecognized chip on command line.

when i click ok it takes me further to the pic configuration window where when i select chip it says unable to create microcontroller dspic33------ as the definition file. dsPIC33------ is missin or corrupt.



can u xplain me what to do.

best regards.
Ismi

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:18 am
by Benj
Hello Ismi,

Can you tell me which device you have selected for your target and I will see if I can replicate your problem.

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 7:11 am
by greentech
Hi there,

Sorry for replying late ive been away for a while.

benj it doesnt matter what chip i am using. any chip i try to load gives me an error message..... i am attaching some pictures.


i also found flow code was unable to compile the rf component.

" Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode PIC24&dsPIC V4\Tools\MX_bats\pic16_C30_comp.bat "Flowcode2" "C:\Users\COMMON~1\DOCUME~1\FLOWCO~1\FLOWDO~1" 24FJ256GB106

C:\Users\COMMON SENSE\Documents\FLOWCODE PROJECTS\flowdoce for dspic>pic30-gcc -c -mcpu=24FJ256GB106 -funsigned-char -fno-short-double -Os -I"C:\PROGRA~1\MATRIX~1\FLOWCO~2\Tools\MX_bats\..\C_tools\support\h" -I"C:\PROGRA~1\MATRIX~1\FLOWCO~2\Tools\MX_bats\..\MX_support" -Wall -std=gnu99 "Flowcode2".c -o "Flowcode2".o
Flowcode2.c:127: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:132: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:137: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:142: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:147: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:152: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:157: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_SPI_Byte':
Flowcode2.c:254: error: 'PORTPORTA' undeclared (first use in this function)
Flowcode2.c:254: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
Flowcode2.c:254: error: for each function it appears in.)
Flowcode2.c:254: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:256: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:260: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:264: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:269: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:296: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_SPI_Byte16'
Flowcode2.c:304: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_SPI_Command'
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_SPI_Command':
Flowcode2.c:308: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:313: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:320: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Wait_For_SDI'
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_Wait_For_SDI':
Flowcode2.c:322: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:327: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Init_RF_Module'
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_Init_RF_Module':
Flowcode2.c:334: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:335: error: 'TRISPORTA' undeclared (first use in this function)
Flowcode2.c:335: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:337: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:338: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:340: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:341: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:343: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:456: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:457: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:467: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Uninit_RF_Module'
Flowcode2.c:474: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Send_Byte'
Flowcode2.c:484: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Send_String'
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_Send_String':
Flowcode2.c:491: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:514: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:519: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Receive_Byte'
Flowcode2.c:533: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Receive_String'
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_Receive_String':
Flowcode2.c:544: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:548: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:552: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:561: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:579: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:592: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:595: error: syntax error before 'else'
Flowcode2.c:598: warning: type defaults to 'int' in declaration of 'Length'
Flowcode2.c:598: error: 'Length' redeclared as different kind of symbol
Flowcode2.c:532: error: previous definition of 'Length' was here
Flowcode2.c:598: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
Flowcode2.c:599: error: syntax error before 'return'
Flowcode2.c:605: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Activate_RX_Mode'
Flowcode2.c:615: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Activate_TX_Mode'
Flowcode2.c:626: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Update_Centre_Frequency'
Flowcode2.c:639: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Set_Sync_Pattern'
Flowcode2.c:663: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_RX_Tune'
Flowcode2.c:689: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_TX_Tune'
Flowcode2.c:708: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Set_Data_Rate'
Flowcode2.c:731: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Read_RX_Signal_Strength'
Flowcode2.c:598: warning: unused variable 'Length'

Error returned from [pic30-gcc.exe]

Return code = 1

Flowcode was unable to compile the flowchart's C code due to the following errors:


If your flowchart contains C code, please review this carefully. If your flowchart contains no C-code or you have thoroughly reviewed the code, contact Technical Support.

FINISHED "

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:32 am
by Steve
Flowcode does not support the dsPIC30F2022 device, and I can't find a reference for it as a current device on Microchip's site.

I have not looked at the specific GSM compilation error. Can you please post the FCF and the C code file that is created by Flowcode for this project and we'll look into it for you.

Re: GSM E Block

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:24 pm
by greentech
this is not even loading 30f2020 which is supported according to the datasheet, can u provide me with the fix?